Today's Chanakya Exit Polls Predicts BJP Win in Uttarakhand

As the country awaits the results of high stake Assembly Elections of 5 states -Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur - NewsX-MRC brings you the most accurate and sharpest exit poll with the best minds ahead of the final day of counting on March 11.

MGP entered the alliance, which was first floated by Velingkar, less than a month after two of its cabinet ministers were sacked from the BJP-led coalition cabinet after their criticism of Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar's leadership.

The Congress-SP alliance seems to have not made any gains for SP, and it only benefited Congress. Akhilesh could've formed govt alone, say analysts.

In Goa, the ruling BJP had an edge, with some exit polls predicting a simple majority and others projecting it to emerge as the single largest group in the 40-member house. In Goa, the BJP is likely to retain power, while in Manipur, it is unclear whether the Hindu-nationalist party can form government, polls said. The party had ceded a crucial 105 seats to the grand old party, which was decimated by Mulayam and could barely scrap though 28 seats in 2012 Assembly elections.

The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP alliance was headed towards a rout, it said, giving the Aam Aadmi Party 42-51 seats. In a a major blow to the SAD-BJP, the alliance is expected to bag just 19-27 seats.

The biggest scramble is for UP's 403 seats where campaign saw the bitterest battle of them all with even Prime Minister Narendra Modi throwing in his might to up the chances of his party.

Elections in the five states took place between February 4 and March 8. Also the rebel factor may have failed to dent BJP's ascendancy in Uttarakahnand if exit poll figures prove to be correct. Others will possibly win 9-15 seats. "Goa and Manipur will also see startling results", Congress MP Rajeev Shukla told ANI.

So, what do the exit polls predict for Uttar Pradesh?

In Punjab, the toss-up has been between Congress and AAP-and that has been known to all political observers even without any survey.

Fate of 98 candidates including Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, Deputy CM Gaikhangam, three Ministers – M Okendro, D Korungthang and Manga Vaiphei and iconic rights activist Irom Sharmila, who is contesting against Ibobi from Thoubal, is now sealed in the EVMs.

  • Lila Blake