It's BJP vs Congress as Uttarakhand goes to polls today

Voting is now going on in 67 Assembly constituencies of western Uttar Pradesh and in 69 Assembly seats in Uttarakhand as people are all set to select new legislators in the states.

People show their inked finger after casting their vote at a polling booth in Dehradun.

Total electorate strength for this phase was 2,28,96,627.

In the present phase, 721 candidates, including 62 women are in the fray. "The 68 per cent is better than the 66 per cent recorded in 2012 and 64 per cent in 2007", a poll official said. Polling for Karnaprayag constituency has been deferred following the accidental death of BSP nominee.

The districts which went for polls were Bijnor, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Kheri, Shahjahanpur and Badaun.

A total of 628 candidates from different parties and independent backgrounds are trying their luck at the hustings this time round.

Indians voted on Wednesday in the second round of a state election that is the biggest test of support for Prime Minister Narendra Modi since he rose to power three years ago, as controversy raged over the illegal publication of an exit poll. It was a similar scenario in Kweerijimia village of Dharchula constituency where only four votes were cast till 3 pm.

"There were 479 polling station which were in snow-covered areas", Deputy Election Commissioner in charge Sandeep Saxena said. Polling station at the highest altitude is in Tehri Garhwal region, of Dhansali assembly constituency, sitting at a height of 10,000 feet above sea level.

In 2012, Haridwar (75.35 per cent) had recorded maximum polling, followed by Uttarkashi (72.99 per cent).

At a booth in Kichha, from where Chief Minister Harish Rawat of the Congress is contesting, BJP supporters alleged that they were unable to press the party's lotus symbol on the electronic voting machine. The elections in the state will take place in seven phases and the next one is set for February 15.

  • Tracy Ferguson